Skip to Content

School of Law and Justice Seminar Series

The School of Law and Justice Seminar Series showcases the research by School of Law and Justice staff, postgraduate students and visiting researchers.

2017 events

Date and timeLocationPresenter/seminar
Wednesday, 15 February
11am (NSW); 10am (QLD)
Lismore: R1.06
Gold Coast: B5.40
Bianca De Gennaro Blanco
How can the Earth-centered perspective touch on the anthropological notion of "Person" in the legal arena? An essay based on an Earth-centered judgment of non-human personhood
Wednesday, 22 February
12pm (NSW); 1pm (QLD)
Lismore: R1.06
Gold Coast: B6.25
Coffs Harbour: A1.20
Dr Olga Jurasz
Prosecution of gender-based crimes at the ICC: recent developments, ongoing challenges

Wednesday, 1 March
1pm (NSW); 12pm (QLD)
Lismore: R1.06
Gold Coast: B6.25
Tom Round
A better niche for ouster clauses
Wednesday, 5 April
2pm
Lismore: R1.06
Gold Coast: B6.25
Professor Kirsten Anker
Grounded Jurisprudence: An encounter between Indigenous Law and Wild Law
Wednesday, 26 April
2pm
Lismore:Y2.11
Gold Coast: B5.40
Associate Professor Monica Gagliano
The mind of plants: thinking the unthinkable
Monday, 22 May
10am
Lismore: P1.58
Gold Coast: B6.25
Jade Kennedy, University of Wollongong
Embedding Aboriginal Perspectives: Beyond the Guest Lecture [Video recording/SCU staff login required]

2016 events

Date and timeLocationPresenter/seminar
Wednesday, 21 September
11:00am - 1:00pm (NSW)
Lismore: R106
Gold Coast: B625
Professor William MacNeil
Lacanian ink and leather downunder: Queensland's "bikie": legislation and its crimes of fashion

Wednesday, 5 October
3:30 - 5pm (NSW)

Lismore: P158
Gold Coast: B328
Dr Andy Chiu, Head of the School of Law, Shue Yan University
Expert on law and gender/sexual orientation
Wednesday, 12 October
12:00 -1:00pm (NSW)
Lismore: R106
Gold Coast: B625
Dr Cristy Clark
The politics of public interest environmental litigation: lawfare in Australia
Wednesday, 26 October
1:00 - 2:00pm (NSW)
Lismore: R106
Gold Coast: B625
Dr Nicole Rogers
This changes everything: litigation, protest and the climate change crists
Wednesday, 23 November
1:00 - 3:00pm (NSW)
Lismore: R106
Gold Coast: B625
HDR Roundtable

Wednesday, 14 December
12:00 - 1:00pm (NSW)

Lismore: R106
Gold Coast: B625
Dr Rohan Price
Althusser's rendition to treaty port Cathay: would he find modernity with Chinese characteristics