Skip to Content

School/Centres Directors Contacts

SCU recognises the foundational and critical role of supervision in HDR study. To ensure the quality of this input, the University requires that each HDR student has a supervisory team which consists of a minimum of two SCU supervisors. In circumstances where additional specialist input is required, an external supervisor may be appointed.

Even if a prospective student already has a sense of a supervisor who may be relevant to his or her research interests, SCU encourages all such students to discuss this matter with the relevant School/Special Research Centre Director for Higher Degrees by Research Training ('the SDHDRT'). Within each School/SRC, this role is dedicated to managing and facilitating the HDR program.

If you need assistance in making contact with an appropriate supervisor please contact the relevant SDHDRT.

The Higher Degrees Research Committee is the advisory committee to the Academic Board on issues of Higher Degree Research policy and training (including Masters, PhDs and Professional Doctorates) across the University.

The committee is made of up the following members:

  • Chair, Nominee of Academic Board in consultation with DVCR:Dean Graduate Studies, Professor Les Christidis
  • School Directors of Higher Degree Research Training as listed below

Directors of HDR Training

School of Arts and Social SciencesDr Angela
School of EducationProfessor Amy
School of Environment, Science and EngineeringA/Professor Kirsten
School of Health and Human SciencesDr Joanne
School of Law and JusticeAssociate Professor John
School of Business and TourismA/Professor Michael
Southern Cross GeoScienceDr Renaud
Southern Cross Plant ScienceA/Professor Bronwyn